Two Country Clubs in one Week

Whew – what a week so far! I was thrilled to be a part of the Bear’s Paw Country Club’s annual tea on Monday where I was the floor show….minus the sequins and the feathers.

We had an excellent set-up, we prepped the models at the salon in the morning (hair and makeup) and then did finishing touches on them at the Club. We had 6 models to prepare for the event (hair color, cut and then makeup) and then we spoke about our techniques.

My first model I talked about blush, what it does in the makeup application, how to apply it, and how to find your perfect shade. I also showed them a cute trick on how to determine your perfect shade. I told the ladies to imagine that I just broke their favorite china vase and that in your rage you are making a tight fist.
***just to get away from the story for a bit – visualize about 60 women making a tight fist at me…and some of them getting really into it***
Once the fist is really tight – I have them open their hands….the color that is on the hand (from the blood being trapped in the palm) is the color of blush you should be wearing.

My next model I spoke about proper lipstick application – especially with darker lipstick tones. A lot of the older ladies start to wear more matte lipsticks because the more moistrizing lipsticks tend to “bleed” up the finer lines and wrinkles around the lips….and we know that is totally not sexy. The other not sexy thing is with the more matte lipsticks while they do not “bleed” they look really dry, which makes the mouth look old…also not good. So to combat that problem – take a flesh colored lip pencil and draw around your lip-line. This will fill in the lines and wrinkles and keep a more moisturizing lipshade on the lips giving the mouth a more youthful appearance.

My third model we spoke about bronzer. Everyone in Florida loves the idea of being “tan” but do not like what the sun’s harmful rays does to the skin. Bronzer is a great way to add contour to the face and give the skin the beautiful sun-kissed glow that you desire…with out freckles and pre-mature wrinkling. By placing the bronzer across the forehead, into the temples, under the cheekbones, and then tapping on the chin and nose creates the natural look most women desire.

My fourth model I spoke at length about the importance of eyebrows and proper shape. Even people with more full eyebrows still need a little help in the grooming department. By using a wax eyebrow pencil, I showed the ladies how to create lift and fullness without looking painted. I also showed them a trick with a white eye pencil on the bone of the brow to create a beautiful lift (take the white pencil and softly color in the arch of the brow to the crease, then take your ring finger and smuge it out – this creates a beautiful natural looking highlight!).

Next we spoke about the use of shimmering powders and how they make the skin look. I will be the first to tell you – I LOVE SHIMMERING POWDERS – just make sure you don’t use glitter…that is reserved for halloween, little girls, and men who tuck (aka drag queens)…but I digress again…;). I use shimmering powders to lift the cheekbone, soften the finer lines and wrinkles on the sides of the face (aka crow’s feet) and to create the look of moisture on the face.

My last model we spoke about a basic eye technique that I love….tight lining. For those of you who do not know what it is, I will tell you: it is when you take a black eye pencil or gel and place it inbetween the lashes on the top and above the top lashes. This gives lift, fullness, and makes the eyes look very awake.

Any of the above techniques I can teach you in person – or as my dear friend Amber says…do some YouTube…which I may do as well.

I was thrilled to be a part of the Bear’s Paw event – almost all of the ladies had questions for me afterword and quite a few signed up for private lessons. (With my private lessons I have the ladies bring in all of their personal makeup and I let them know what I think of the brands and colors, and then I teach them how to use their own makeup).

I also had the chance to be a part of the fashion show at the Naples Sailing and Yacht Club on Wednesday – and that was a lot of fun as well meeting all of those ladies.

Got a busy rest of the week ahead of us!

Don’t forget to check out our website: www.facesbyfrohmberg.com