People be Crazy

People be crazy.

There I said it. Now, granted most people are not that bad. In fact, most people are perfectly normal and a joy to be around. Then there are some people – people that just make you rethink you own sanity after spending time with them. Why do they do this?

I was reading the other day in the “Wall Street Journal” or “Inc.” or a magazine like that about the books that all managers should read – and on the list was the usual “how to motivate people” books and the “developing leaders” genres and then there was one that surprised me. It was a fiction book called “Little Children” by Tom Perrotta which I had read years ago and it made me think, and then I smiled because the writer of the article was a genius and so correct. Why? Because no matter how “normal” someone looks on the outside you have to remember that  even rational looking people make irrational decisions.

I always have to remember that no matter how hard you try, how much experience that you have, or even how correct you are in a certain situation some people just don’t care. And that is okay – there is not much that I can do about it. When someone blindsides me with their version of reality I try to see where they are coming from. Sometimes even the most irrational thoughts have the tiniest bit of truth in it that somehow got distorted.

People still be crazy, but I am okay with it.

I would love everyone’s opinion on the subject!