B**CHING SKIN PART DEUX

Salon Tease Beautiful Hair and MakeupLast week I wrote a “QUICK GUIDE TO B***CHING SKIN” – read it if you have not already – I had a few questions from my readers so I thought it would be best to answer them on here. If anyone has any more questions – don’t hesitate to ask them!

So, without any more ado – here are the questions!

QUESTION FROM ASHLEY

Ashley

“Ok- So I’m ready to get a chemical peel and buy a new moisturizer with sunscreen after reading this. Can you give me more specifics on suggestions for both? The peel freaks me out a little but I’ve seen the benefits on
other people.”

I think the easiest way to start is not with a peel or the moisturizer – but the cleanser. I recommend that Ashley starts with a facial cleanser that has acid in it (glycolic or salicylic). A low dose of acid in the facial cleanser will be a light exfoliant while it cleanses the skin. This will be a light daily peel for Ashley. This will help improve slight skin discoloration and finer lines and wrinkles. This can make the skin a bit sensitive so be careful of over exfoliation. I recommend that she only use the acid cleanser in the evening and use a more gentle cleanser in the morning. If she wants to do a deeper peel, there are other options. But I would recommend that she only do it every two weeks or a month for a take home version – or every 6 months to a year at the esthetician (depending on the strength).

Now for the moisturizer – please use one, but lets do a little better 😉 . I recommend that you use a serum as well – something with vitamins A, C, E (your ace) and hyaluronic acid (to help your skin retain its moisture). Vitamin A reduces wrinkles, fade brown spots, and smooths roughness. Vitamin C  mops up the free radicals that trigger wrinkling, sagging, and other aging changes. Vitamin C also helps smooth and firm skin and fade brown spots. Vitamin E quells dryness by helping skin retain its natural moisturizers. Also, vitamin E’s potent ability to neutralize damaging free radicals has earned it the moniker “the protector.”  Pretty great right?

Ashley – please let me know if this answered your questions!

QUESTION FROM ANNA

anna“I have VERY Sensitive skin and facials and peels in the past have made me break out. What are your thoughts?”

Anna, that is actually a very common occurrence after a facial – according to the Huffington Post, “Facials are an external way to detoxify. When you detoxify, your body rids itself of toxins and impurities, oftentimes through the skin. Getting rid of this junk can give you more energy than you’ve ever had before and it can leave your skin looking luminous. But before you get to that luminous point, you may first break out in pimples or rashes as toxins release through the skin.”

Is breaking out after a facial the sign of a bad facial – absolutely not. But be careful that the treatment is not overly aggressive.

Just remember, a facial isn’t a makeup application. It’s more like a workout at the gym. It doesn’t necessarily make you beautiful the first visit. Unless it’s a red-carpet facial (a treatment intended for immediate radiance or lifting only), the benefits kick in after a few days, when the skin’s like, “Oh, wow. Now I can function better without that dead layer of skin and clogged pores”.

Bottom line: wash your face with a mild acid, use a serum, moisturize day and night, wear your sunscreen and get a facial.

Do you get my blog via email yet? Don’t forget to be on our mailing list!

Also, if I did not answer your questions – please let me know!!!! I will be more than happy to clarify further!

Check out our website: http://www.salonteasenaples.com for more awesome.

