Painted Black – A Study in Muscle & Light

 

Sorry everyone for being so incognito for a while – things have been heating up here at Salon Tease and we have been BUSY 🙂 But, trust me, I am not complaining. I could totally be unemployed right now. I chose to start February out with a bit of a bang with this bitching shoot by Michael Owen Photography.

I was honored that he thought of me to be a part of this project with him – as many of you know, I am very well known for a certain “look” when it comes to makeup. And, yes I am totally amazing at it – that is true. But I can and do love to step out of that box to create something a little different. And that we did.

Now for the concept: Michael wanted to play with lighting in a monochrome palate to show off the body’s lines and muscle structure. Pretty cool, no? Well, I thought it was and I jumped – well really I leaped right into this concept with him and he let me fly.

My part: I had to take a completely nude model, paint her entirely matte black and then highlight certain areas of her face and body to reflect the lighting that he had for the shoot. I used a mixture of black airbrush makeup and cream body paint that both dried matte – and then I stippled silver body paint mixed with the black on the highest points of the breasts, clavicle, cheekbones etc to create a glisten so that when the lighting caressed the body a subtle glow is created.

I love how this concept made her look like a living statue – almost like those bronze statues that were dug up in the Pompeii excavations. I feel that you can really appreciate the body’s form with these photos and really appreciate how nudity is not just erotic – but is artistic as well.

On that note – for those of you who are offended by nipples, breasts, gludes etc – please stop reading and go to a different post. Photos from this shoot, as stated before are nudes, and if you are offended by any of this please don’t go any further.

 

 

Don’t forget to stalk us online on our Facebook, Instagram and Website (salonteasenaples.com for all the awesome links)

